Ithaca Composers Project

The Boynton Middle School Band Program, Michael Allen, Director, has partnered with Ithaca College Composition Majors, Professor Sally Lamb McCune, Project Manager, to create and perform original compositions for solo instruments. Starting in September 2020, the Boynton Band Members worked one-on-one with their college mentors to develop musical themes into completed original works. The project will culminate on March 3, 2021, 7:00pm, with a virtual performance of the new compositions.

The Ithaca College Student Composers are Jeffrey Taylor, Nathaniel Finke, Aspen Earls, Rebecca Torro, Jack Edwards and Caleb Bates. The Boynton Band Members are Jasmine Mueller (flute), Anna Hummel (clarinet), Linnea Melo (flute), Lily Wang (oboe), Olivia Shearer (clarinet) and Claire Park (bassoon).

In addition to the soloists, students of Ithaca High School Orchestra Director, Jonathan Fleischman, will premiere Suite for Cello by Ithaca College composer Caleb Bates.

Special thanks to Sally Lamb McCune for organizing and overseeing the project and to all of the participating students for their role in making the program a success.

— Michael W. Allen Director of Bands Boynton Middle School 1601 North Cayuga Street Ithaca, NY 14850